Open Science from the inside out: concept, challenges and implementation

DIPC Seminars

Eva Mendez, UC3M, European Open Science Policy Platform
Carlos Santamaria Center (UPV/EHU)
Add to calendar
Subscribe to Newsletter
Open Science from the inside out: concept, challenges and implementation Eva Méndez will approach the concept of 'Open Science' from the reflection of ideas and policies discussed in the context of the European Union, but also addressing the challenge of implementation for the different agents involved. The main initiatives that have been launched in this area (PlanS, OSPP-REC, etc.) as well as the barriers to the necessary cultural change will be discussed. This talk is part of the program of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science (11th February) organized jointly by CFM, CIC nanoGUNE; CIC biomaGUNE and DIPC. **Eva Méndez** holds a PhD in Library and Information Sciences (LIS) and is an expert in metadata. She defines herself in her Twitter profile as an ‘open knowledge militant’ (@evamen). She has been a lecturer at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M), LIS department since 1997. She has been an active member of several international research teams, advisory boards and communities including: DCMI, OpenAire, Metadata2020, RDA, etc. In 2005-06 she was awarded a Fulbright Research Scholarship at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (USA). She has taken part in and led several research projects and acted as advisor to many more in the fields related with standardization, metadata, semantic web, open data, digital repositories and libraries, in addition to information policies for development in several countries. In 2015 she won the Young Researcher of Excellence award of her University. In November 2017 she was named “Open Data Champion” by SPARC Europe. She is currently Deputy Vice President for Scientific Policy-Open Science at UC3M and member of the EU-OSPP (European Open Science Policy Platform) on behalf of YERUN (Young European Research Universities Network). She is the OSPP chair for the 2nd mandate of the platform.