Topological Matter School 2018


2018/08/27 - 2018/08/31
Miramar Palace, Donostia-San Sebastián
Dario Bercioux, Reyes Calvo, Jérôme Cayssol, Adolfo Grushin, Maia G. Vergniory
Add to calendar
Subscribe to Newsletter
Topological Matter School 2018

Topology and lattice symmetries play a key role in determining matter states and their associated internal order. These so-called topological states of matters are of fundamental interest, since they entail exotic electronic behaviors. The study and prediction of materials with novel topological properties has become a vibrant field of research over the past few years.

The main goal of the Topological Matter School 2018 is to cover basic and advanced aspects of the field. Over one week, the school will provide extended lectures by leading experts on key aspects of topological matter:

  • Graduate level presentations introducing the basic concepts of the field, including an introductory session on group theory and topological classification of matter.
  • Several focus sessions on different topological phases (Weyls semi-metals, Majoranas fermions and topological superconductivity, non-symmorphic topological insulators, etc).
  • A practical session on numerical exaclty solvable interacting model in one-dimensions.
  • A review session on the major experimental achievements in the field.

While the school is primarily aimed at instructing master and graduate students and young postdoctoral researchers, more senior scientists who want to acquaint themselves with the subject of the school are also welcome.

This is the list of lecturers for the 2018 edition:

  • Alexander Altland (University of Cologne)
  • Haim Beidenkopf (Weizman Institute — Rehovot)
  • Andrei Bernevig (Princeton University)
  • Erwann Bocquillon (École Normale Supérieure — Paris)
  • Claudia Felser (Max Planck Institute — Dresden)
  • Joel Moore (University of California — Berkeley)
  • Titus Neupert (University of Zurich)
  • Stuart Parkin (Max Planck Institute — Halle)
  • Frank Pollmann (Technical university of Munich)
  • Leslie Schoop (Princeton University)
  • Andreas Schnyder (Max Planck Institute — Stuttgart)
  • Matteo Rizzi (Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz)

This School is organized within the summer program of the University of Basque Country “Cursos de verano”. The event is sponsored by the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC). The conference venue is in Palacio de Miramar, in Donostia-San Sebastián.

More information is available on the workshop web page: